• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks or on the Web, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, Slack, and browsed web pages. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.


Book 6

Page history last edited by Sara Burnett 7 years, 8 months ago

Sarah, 34 years old


We own a house in St. Cloud


Asian, specifically Korean


Adopted from Seoul, South Korea came over when I was 4 months and grew up in St. Paul, as an only child


Now married with 2 boys, ages 3 & 1


Finished my undergrad and graduate degree at the U of MN Twin Cities.  I have a BA in Studio Art and MEd in Art Education.


I've worked a job since I was a senior in high school first at a photo shop, then various other jobs, and was a competitive figure skater growing up so I coached a bit too, in college I did a student exchange to the University of West Florida to pursue Marine Biology, but figured out I hated chemistry so I came back home and finished with an art degree.  In Florida I met my husband Dennis, so it wasn't a total loss ;-) I have always had an interest in teaching whether it was coaching skating or I also worked at a daycare for a bit while I was doing grad school.  I currently teach Art at a high school in Central Minnesota.



I am actually Jewish which is something I think people would not expect.  I like to think of myself as a stereotype breaker.  I had a Bat Mitzvah when I was 13.  I don't go to a synagogue as there are none in St. Cloud, but would enjoy going again.


Negative experiences: 

Overhearing kids say "well Ching Ching chong" pretending to speak Chinese while within ear shot of myself.  Hearing a student call another student a Jew in a negative connotation, sitting through a conference where a parent pronounced Vietnamese wrong.  I've heard a student refer to middle eastern people as towel heads.  I have had someone say oh you don't have an accent or surprised that I speak English.  I don't see/hear things too frequently, maybe once in awhile, but enough times to make a note of it.


I think the whole idea of me growing up in a Caucasian family and being raised Jewish is definitely something that would surprise people.


I have not struggled with depression due to racism or anything like that, I'm generally a pretty happy person.


I am an animal lover, art lover, kid lover, someone who loves to travel and try new experiences and adventures and someone who loves to spend time with her family.


5 words to explain me: Mother, wife, teacher, loyal, caring


Do you see me differently now?



Comments (1)

Valerie Sandstrom said

at 8:11 pm on Jul 30, 2015

I chose Sarah to look at and randomly guessed that she might be Hmong because we talked about that culture in our class so it was the first thing that came to mind. I was wrong in her culture and also would've never guessed on some of the specifics about her! Drives your point home, great idea Sara!

You don't have permission to comment on this page.